Blogging Harper’s Island (Become Someone Has To)–Episode 9: Seep

Well, the “Seep” part came from all the blood. That was easy, and pretty obvious… Katherine’s blood, specifically. Beth’s blood was just pooling, and I’m not sure how it ended up in so many discrete puddles instead of a long series of drips, but perhaps the laws of physics are different on Canadian sound stages. When I enact my evil plan and Canada finally falls, that universalizing the laws of physics will be the first change I make.

Goodbye, Beth! You were non-descript and a plot device and you bleed in funny ways. Im proud that you got off the boat to help save Madison's life, though.

Goodbye, Beth! You were non-descript and a plot device and you bleed in funny ways. I'm proud that you got off the boat to help save Madison's life, though.

Goodbye, Katherine! I hope you went peacefully, however violently, because you were the only one who acted like a real person. Too bad well never know if you would have inherited a zillion dollars.

Goodbye, Katherine! I hope you went peacefully, however violently, because you were the only one who acted like a real person. Too bad we'll never know if you would have inherited a zillion dollars.

I’m sort of underwhelmed by this episode, too. The wandering around is getting tedious, and I am glad that the sun is up. Sully turning on Abby was very strange. No, not strange, I guess, but handled badly. She’s not working with Wakefield, dude. You know this girl (as Danny pointed out). I’m not saying that people wouldn’t splinter, but I think it would have been for different reasons. Whatever. The tunnels business was sufficiently claustrophobic, although the tunnels did come out of nowhere and the by-the-way explanation for the inn having been built during Prohibition was too pat and should have been established much earlier. I dislike sudden and handy, but it’s a short, summer series and needed to cut corners and that’s a quibble. The thing that was really clumsy was suddenly giving the innkeeper too many lines and some close-ups. Out of nowhere she’s chiding Shane for his carving habits and making nice with poor Madison, which is definitely a bug clue to the viewer that she’s Up to No Good. Madison refused to talk to her for a reason, but unless the woman is stupid she wouldn’t be out at the reunion if she was complicit in the kidnapping. While I’m on the subject, Madison explaining to Abby that her father was behind it all was annoying (and too clearly a red herring). They are going out of their way to make her look slow, and when she’s allowed to interact naturally with other people (like poor JD), she behaves completely differently. I don’t know if they picked a bad little actress or just don’t know how to write a strange child character. Mostly Madison is being used to further the plot and to shoehorn creepy into the setting, which doesn’t need it. It’s bugging me, and I was really starting to like the little girl.

I’ll admit, though, that the image of her hand waving forlornly from the manhole cover into the road was eerie. Not sure if Mother Shea would have really seen that hand at night from the sideview mirror without extra lighting, but that detail doesn’t bother me in the least! I’m all for girls getting the work done, too, while the men are running from blood and fussing around trying to scrounge up some garden shears to take on that steel grate. It’s entertaining in hindsight. It could have been played even funnier, as could have the scenes with Shane and Katherine at the bar. Those were funny enough, but not frequent enough. I don’t think they could have had more of them within the confines of the episode, though.

Last time I was insisting that Wakefield was Abby’s father, but now that the new shit has come to light with the found journal pages and everyone on the island believes that Wakefield is Abby’s father, I think that she probably isn’t. It was a reason for them to be all suspicious of her and split up into the Small Groups of Death (although all were spared), but it’s too easy now to have this be the outcome. My new prediction is that Wakefield’s actual child is the one come back to commit the murders. Perhaps Abby’s mother gave said child up for adoption and Wakefield found out later, and punished her with death. Now the son wants to pay tribute to his father’s legacy. Or daughter. Maybe it’s a daughter. The innkeeper is too old for the part. Are we so fond of Chloe and Cal that we worry about one of them being the killer? I hope they stay comic relief and endure. There’s a couple in The Poseidon Adventure book that is first seen carousing at the bar before the overturning and then next seen at the keel of the boat having been rescued, presumably drinking their way to the top. I loved it. I am thinking of Chloe and Cal in this light, and I was certain he was going to propose to her after they’d made it on the autopsy table, except that then he discovered his patient was missing. Another golden opportunity gone.

So if it isn’t Cal or Chloe, or Shane… Henry has a mysterious past regarding his parents, and they’ve brought it up just enough, yet fairly consistently, that a big reveal would make storytelling sense. JD is dead–perhaps before he could tell.

I am typing this as the next episode is airing, and I am debating if I should watch it and be caught up or if I should update you, Gentle Reader, on the kitchen progress (little tangible, but high drama), or if I should go read my Anathem book. I am definitely in need of changing out of my jeans and into my pajamas. Perhaps I’ll receive a sign or find an omen that will tell me what to do.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

