Explanations: Need/Have

Someone’s got some ‘splaining to do. I could use a context for this:

It’s not often you see something online in the original Hungarian. I have found myself in the proverbial shotgun shack asking myself how I got there. It was not a video I was looking for, I’ll can tell you that much: Husband was playing with some modeling clay with Fella and Filly, and I guess they were looking up pictures like Wall*E and Eve, and Teletubbies for models. That led to a YouTube search for Teletubbies, which included some fan video of them dancing set to a club song, and then Fella saw the Gummy Bear face in that list of related videos. Beyond the fact that Dipsy and this Gummy Bear have round, green faces, I’m not seeing the connection. Dipsy has never driven a black pneumatic lift low-rider convertible through the Hollywood Hills to my knowledge.

But this:

This explains a lot. Now I know why I love the Outback Steakhouse commercial so much. This is a commercial I will turn the radio up to listen to. I’ve stopped channel surfing to hear it. I love every single holiday version of it, and now it all makes sense. Plus I’ve learned about a whole bunch of new music and bands to explore: the Elephant 6 Collective.

Fella is equally captivate by both videos, as am I. We watched each of them several times in a row. We already like gummy bear candy; hopefully we can avoid kicking off some Outback Steakhouse obsession. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but Filly doesn’t do well in restaurants right now and dining out is kinda expensive. But there is an Outback Steakhouse just down the road! You should try the Alice Springs Quesadilla, because nothing says melted cheese and chicken on a tortilla better than Alice Springs.

The Of Montreal video I found because I had been talking about favorite commercials with someone, who asked me if I had ever seen Jemaine from Flight of the Conchords in the Outback one. I hadn’t, so I looked it up in Google (jemaine outback steakhouse youtube was my search string) and this video was referred to in the search results, via some blog post. Always far more interested in sellouts and outrages than Jemaine–no offense, Jemaine!–I clicked through to get the story. I did end up watching the Jemaine commercial, but I don’t like it as much because it doesn’t have the song. Semi-vegetarianism < catchy tune.

And once more, with a didgeridoo!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

