A Google Bomb

It’s my week to muck around with Google, I guess. Because I don’t believe that stars and planets align to affect my life in any instance, it’s rocking my world that I am getting so many signs to exploit the power of Google–two in the last two days. I’ve carefully considered the possibility that Google is such a powerful machine that I’m just going to coincidentally run into it, and that I have a confirmation bias because I did all that stuff with Google Analytics yesterday so when I see the word Google I’m more likely to pay attention to it, but I think it’s that code I inputted yesterday that gave the computer permission to control me.

Anyway… I am participating in a Google Bomb. The year 2012 is coming, and there’s nothing we can do to stop it. Fortunately, our biggest predictable problem that year will be the presidential election, and even that will be over long before December 21 (unless Barack Obama’s computer cancels the elections). There’s not going to be a celestial apocalypse, and no heretofore hidden planets in our solar system will come into view and yank us out of our orbit. There’s no significance to the Mayan calendar ending that year greater than the significance of your Hallmark kitten calendar ending last year. The reason you got to go to the store and buy a new one for 2009 is that your civilization didn’t die. If the Mayan civilization hadn’t disappeared, you’d see all the 2012 calendars on sale that September to make room for the 2013s on the shelves.

But don’t take my word for it–take the Skeptoid’s:

2012

Since the people at SGU and ILS have started Google Bombing, the page has risen in rank from like 154 to 45. Not bad. Not bad at all. I consider myself pretty fortunate to have participated too late in the game to have to spend time worrying about it, but early enough to take credit later when the world is applauding our success on December 22, 2012 and for many, many years afterwards.

Baby steps to glory is what this is. Hallelujah, Gentle Reader. Google will take care of us all.

Ka-boom.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

