Famous Last Words

Again I am up late not doing my work, even though I was on a roll. It’s just that I was cold, and a little hungry, and I got up from the table to turn on the heat and grab a soda, and I am using the natural break.

I was challenged (in a polite, academic way) by Pat, a commenter, to provide examples of vitriol among Freedomain Radio discussion board members. I enjoyed complying, and listed a few threads in my reply to his comment. The following thread is an oldie but goodie from November of 2006. It’s kinda in media res, as they used to say in my writing classes, and the original post has been deleted (probably an artifact of an account being deleted, because although some remarks by the original poster appear inside quote boxes, no posts by him appear, even though you know he was participating in the discussion because people call him out by name):

Stef Claims to Know Others Better than They Know Themselves

The thread covers a lot of ground, from self-esteem to prostitution to newbies, but for me the real pay off is the very last post.

Registration will not be turned off on this board to create a “safe microcosm” of close minded people.  The free market does not work that way.  Anyone can buy a movie ticket and attend the show.

Here and there I’ve pointed out on this blog (maybe in the comments) that the board has been closed to new members, and speculated that it was a way to filter out negative fallout (is that a redundant phrase?) from the Guardian article and radio interviews. You can petition to sign up, and a few people have been granted permission (one of them named tpaine–fancy that!), but you obviously have to qualify in some way. Maybe it’s like a five-day waiting period on fire arms–everyone gets approved, but not immediately, so whatever half-cocked thing they were hoping to register to say is forgotten about.

Five days? But I’m mad now!

I may be watching from the parking lot across the street from the driveway, but I am totally enjoying this show. And I don’t have to be objective–I’ve got a blog!

(Plus I said cock. Tee hee!) /Dig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Patience  On December 11, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    The Guardian article has been printed (in shortened form) in the UK newspaper The Daily Mail, in typical Daily Mail style, but I thank them for presenting the story to their readers:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1093993/A-fearful-mother-reveals-The-internet-cult-stole-son.html

    The original article has also been run in the Qatar newspaper Gulf Times:
    http://www.gulf-times.com/mritems/streams/2008/11/24/2_256532_1_255.pdf

  • Karen  On December 11, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Patience,

    I edited your link because it wasn’t showing up as a link, but now it is. I also read both articles. The Daily Mail is quite liberal with pictures, and the Gulf Times has got something for everyone! I wonder where that story will appear next…

  • Patience  On December 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Thanks for sorting out the link. Other newspapers have expressed interest in the story. I’ll keep in touch.

  • Gabrielle  On December 12, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I’ve just read the abreviated article on the Daily Mail–sorry to have seen it there first–and then found this blog after doing a search. Had no idea Stefan Molyneux existed before now, the results/flavor of it remind me a bit of some cockamamie group called the Landmark Forum my mother-in-law dabbled in briefly. I do wish people would be less join-y and more skeptical–if they were, this man would have no followers. Personal freedom, my ass. It would be his death knell.

  • Karen  On December 12, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Well, Gabrielle, I am as surprised as I am pleased that an Internet search brought you here. Thanks for the visit and the comment!

    I would like to document that at this moment, 1:29 AM Pacific Standard Time on December 12, 2008, the Freedomain Radio discussion board has not started talking about the article yet. It’s understandable… They should all be in bed. I should be in bed. I don’t even know why I am documenting the time. But if they have somehow agreed to not acknowledge the reappearance of the article by discussing it in the forum, and instead carrying on with their usual topics, I will be impressed. I won’t probably be able to show the same restraint. But I think they are going to hit the roof when they see the pictures.

Leave a Reply

