Daily Dig (A Glorified Twitter)

I can’t believe I am writing an entry for the sole purpose of making a daily dig, but I am actually on a roll with some work for money and I don’t want to take the time to go off on some other topic. I am officially following the “Freedomain Radio and Liberating Minds” thread at FDR because those are the two groups I’ve been writing about combined in one thread, and I get email alerts whenever someone posts a new response. I got this one just now. It’s a very good response, but it’s long, and it’s about the argument from priority, which is the subject of most conversation today (some of it quite funny).

One sentence, however, jumped out at me.

Stefan suggests ending boring and dull relationships with one’s family, as boredom means the foregoing of more happiness-generating activities.

NOTE: This is one person’s interpretation of what Molyneux has said, and the poster doesn’t cite it and doesn’t provide any kind of source. It could be a total and complete misinterpretation. The quotation, therefore, indicates nothing more than what one member thinks about what Molyneux would do in some particular situation–it is not a representation of what Molyneux would actually do in a situation. (How’s that for a disclaimer?) Maybe someone else can look it up and see where he gets this idea, or maybe I will later. If this sentiment came out of a podcast, forget it. It would take a year to go through all of those listening for one particular paragraph, and–despite all evidence to the contrary–I have other things to do.

But could this possibly be true? You can deFOO not just because your family are evil statists who advocate the use of force against you, but if they are boring, too?

Now back to my revenue-generating activities. I am very lucky that they are not boring. I am very sad that they are late, but that’s what you get with a piss-poor work ethic.

See ya!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Patience  On December 8, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Interesting point. My son was certainly not a victim of abuse, despite Molyneux’s claims, but like most teenagers he probably was bored a lot of the time. Is that a good enough reason to cut off all contact with his entire family? As he goes out into the world, he will meet lots of boring people. Will he try to avoid all of them? Sounds like a pretty lonely future to me. Even the most fascinating people can be boring at times, you have to take the rough with the smooth. Personally, I find Molyneux boring, but that’s just my opinion.

  • reddeerrick  On December 8, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Yes, Molyneux has said that, I’ve heard it. Unfortunately, it is buried in a podcast somewhere, and I have no idea where to find it. You will find that his most controversial ideas are not written down, but are in his podcasts where it is exceedingly difficult to search out. For an exception to this rule, search out the board thread called “Stupid Kids…”

    Oh, and Patience, being boring is abusive, in his estimation. Parents bore their children as a means of torture, and it is done quite deliberately. Of course it is never mentioned that responsible parents are boring by definition in the teenage mind.

  • reddeerrick  On December 9, 2008 at 7:59 am

    “You can deFOO not just because your family are evil statists who advocate the use of force against you, but if they are boring, too?”

    As far as I’m concerned, anybody CAN defoo for any reason they choose, and if they know that they will be happier for it, then more power to ’em. What I object to is the idea that people SHOULD defoo, in order to conform with some internet guru’s prescription for “saving the world”.

Leave a Reply

