Earthquake! Or, The Continued and Varied Adventures of the San Andreas Fault, As Told by a Witness and Chronicler of Events, Part the First

Yay! I felt it! I can now someday regale my grandchildren with tales of the Great 5.4er of Aught-Eight, or USGS Event ci14383980 as those of us who lived through it like to call it. Like a good citizen, I logged my experience on the site for posterity.

It’s always exciting to have a little bit of drama in the day, and because I am so safely tucked away from Chino Hills, I just got a jolt of adrenaline and no problems to deal with. The little leeches I call pets provided no warning and slept through it, as did Fella and Filly. Oddly enough, I heard the shuttered doors upstairs rattling around before I felt any shaking. My hanging lamp hardly moved, and our vertical blinds only faintly.

May God have mercy on our souls.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • loomisnews  On July 29, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Why is the press hiding the truth, though?

    “Obama caused LA Earthquake”
    — latest PR from McSame campaign

    ;-)

  • robertjerome  On July 29, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    I was in Santa Monica last summer and I slept through a small earthquake. Does that make me a leech?

  • Karen  On July 29, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Only if you also spend your days curled up on a dining room chair and your nights on the balcony and expect to be combed and fed without reciprocation.

Leave a Reply

