Robot Dreams

By Sara Varon

We are going through a robot phase at home, so I grab what I can with pictures about robots. There is a lot packed into this graphic novel, and it’s far more novel than graphic, despite the lack of narration.

Refrain from the dog/machine sex jokes.

UPDATE May 13
What a sweet, remarkable, sad little book. It had a happy ending, thanks to the robot, but I don’t think the dog ever fully recovers from their estrangement. I think that’s because the robot had way more time to reflect and the dog was just running from distraction to distraction.

I cried at the end, but before that I laughed, felt sick to my stomach, and wanted to warn the characters like you see in movie parodies of people at movies. I don’t like the title very much, although the robot certainly dreams and the dog dreams of the robot. I really don’t know how to respond to this book; I really only have a reaction. It is a very visceral reaction. Maybe it’s beauty is that it is a simple enough story that I can project whatever I need to see in the book onto its pages.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

