The Sandman, Vol. 8: World’s End

By Neil Gaiman

Wow. Just… gosh.

I don’t know what to make of this yet. I didn’t realize it was number 8 of a series, and I am almost heartbroken to learn that, although it makes a huge amount of sense. I am going to process this for a while.

I first stumbled upon Gaiman with American Gods, which was a book club book that didn’t make the cut. I saw it on the library’s audiobook shelf and brought it on a road trip to Yosemite several years ago. It was the absolute perfect thing to have on that trip and I was an instant Gaiman fan. Five star book. I mentioned it to a friend who waxed rhapsodic about Sandman, which she told me was a graphic novel. I made a half-hearted attempt to track it down and never did. This volume was prominently featured at the library last week so I grabbed it. I thought it was one book. I’ll be checking the rest of these out.

And I’ll be mulling over this one. The graphic element adds this huge dimension to the story, and I’ve gone back already to study pictures, but it is too late to seriously reread it. Much more later.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

